New Music Radar — More Quarantine Jams

Thundercat — 'It Is What It Is' [Brainfeeder Records]

Following 2017’s expansive and sometimes baffling 'Drunk,' Stephen Lee Bruner, aka Thundercat, is back with his fourth LP 'It Is What It Is' — another ambitious tour de force from the virtuoso bassist. Thundercat’s latest includes another star-studded roster of features including: Ty Dolla $ign, Childish Gambino, Steve Lacy, label mate Kamasi Washington and more. In a statement, Bruner said “This album is about love, loss, life and the ups and downs that come with that. It’s a bit tongue-in-cheek, but at different points in life you come across places that you don’t necessarily understand… some things just aren’t meant to be understood.” 'It Is What It Is' is a continuation of the versatility Thundercat brings by blending and exploring diverse genres and styles, including funk, jazz and electronic.

Empress Of — 'I’m Your Empress Of' [Terrible Records]

Lorely Rodriguez, known better as Empress Of, is back with her throbbing and deeply-personal third studio album 'I’m Your Empress Of.' Following the exploratory 2018 album 'Us,' Rodriguez’s latest was recorded between tours during a two-month break in her home studio in Los Angeles. Led by Rodriguez’s emotive songwriting and synth led-production, 'I’m Your Empress Of' is filled with soaring and immediate avant-pop. From the hazy and dizzying “What’s The Point” to the pounding lead single “Give Me Another Chance,” this is Rodriguez at her best.

Stream the new album here.

TOPS — 'I Feel Alive' [TOPS Musique/House Arrest Records]

The Montreal quartet TOPS blend sophisticated soft rock with glimmering and romantic synth-pop on their sparkling fourth record 'I Feel Alive.' Since their 2012 debut, TOPS have always had a satisfying and glossy production style that’s best blended with singer Jane Penny’s expressive vocal range. Incorporating more of a vintage pop style that’s reminiscent of the complex sounds you’d hear from legendary synth-pop acts like New Musik or China Crisis, there’s nothing short of brilliance on TOPS’ latest LP.

Stream the new album here.

Carrousel — 'Magnificent Desolation' [Self-Released]

The Los Angeles-based dream and psych pop duo Carrousel crafts futurist pop melodies out of spiraling and mysterious sounds that are hypnotic on their debut LP 'Magnificent Desolation.' Comprising of husband-wife duo Joel and Sharon Piedt, the new LP serves as the first part of a four album project that pays homage to Joel’s hometown of Memphis. Covering and blending various genres and styles has been the duo’s forte since their earlier EPs. From the slick and intense electro-pop-driven “Psychobabble Drama // Digital Subterfuge, Pt. 2” to the buzzing and noisy neo-psychedelia on “A Solitary Soul,” Carrousel’s music is quite enigmatic.

Stream the new album here.

Ty Segall — 'Segall Smeagol' [Self-Released]

Ty Segall of course is back with another release, but this time paying tribute to Harry Nilsson’s classic 1971 album 'Nilsson Schmilsson.' On Instagram, the prolific rocker wrote “I wanted to cover Nilsson Schmilsson for years, so I used the opportunity of being at home to cover my favorite cuts from the record.” The new EP follows the same tradition Segall did back in 2015 covering T-Rex songs on the Ty Rex EP.

Stream the new album and download it for free here.

Frank Ocean — “Cayendo” / “Dear April” [Blonded]

Last fall, the R&B mastermind Frank Ocean previewed a pair of new singles including “Cayendo” and “Dear April” on his Beats 1 radio show, “blonded RADIO” and at his first ever PrEP+ club night in New York City. He later announced releasing those singles exclusively on 7” vinyl, including the remixes from the French electronic duo Justice and hip-hop producer Sango, as b-sides. Now as a gift from Frank, both singles arrived on streaming services earlier this week. Even though both are acoustic versions, they both spiritually and vocally sound like something off his 2016 magnum opus 'Blonde' — just with some Spanish thrown in the mix.

Stream the new singles here.

Tropical F**k Storm — “This Perfect Day” [Joyful Noise Recordings/Flightless Records]

Tropical F**k Storm returned with the b-side for their chaotic new 7” single “Suburbiopia.” The b-side “This Perfect Day” is a cover originally recorded in 1977 by the legendary Aussie punk band The Saints. It’s not as strangely dancy or surreal as its scuzzier lead single, but it’s definitely a more biting lo-fi take on the original. The single is also credited to the new collaboration known as sNIFFsURFsTORM, which features Amy Taylor of Amyl and the Sniffers and Sean Powell of Surfbort.

Stream the latest single here.

Periodic Table of Elephants — “Waiting” [Self-Released]

The Rochester-based garage rock band Periodic Table of Elephants released the first single for their upcoming EP, out later this year. On the lead single “Waiting” PToE continue with their ‘90s-rock-flavoured style that’s edged with their tangling guitar-driven grooves and chunky basslines.

Stream the newest single here.

For more music, be sure to check out our New Music Friday playlist HERE!