New Music Round Up - “This Beat Goes On”

>>With so much music that was released throughout the week, it can be overwhelming and difficult to determine what to listen to. But we managed to string up a list of some of the best releases to make things easier for you. From Freddie Gibbs’ and The Alchemist’s new collaborative LP to Lady Gaga’s return to the dancefloor, here are some of the highlights of the New Music Friday.

Freddie Gibbs & The Alchemist — 'Alfredo' [ESGN/ALC/Empire]

One of our favorite rappers Freddie Gibbs has teamed up with super producer The Alchemist for another collaborative project called 'Alfredo.' The latest project follows after both artist’s came together alongside Curren$y for the superb album 'Fetti' in 2018 and when Gibbs and Madlib released the collaborative album 'Bandana' just last year. There’s also some notable appearances on the new project from Tyler, The Creator, Rick Ross, Conway the Machine and Benny The Butcher. It’s lead single and opening track “1985” features a psychedelic guitar loop and a flow from Gibbs that’s one of his most memorable — “Michael Jordan, 1985, bitch, I travel with a cocaine circus,” which is of course in reference to the recent Jordan documentary-series 'The Last Dance.' Checkout the Nick Walker-directed video for “1985” below.

Stream the new album here.

Lady Gaga — 'Chromatica' [Interscope Records]

The wait is finally over for Lady Gaga’s anticipated sixth studio album 'Chromatica,' which shows the pop star returning to her dance-pop style that was so evident on earlier releases. The new album was supposed to drop last April, but was postponed due to the ongoing coronavirus pandemic. After excelling on 2016’s country pop 'Joanne,' as well as acting and composing music for 2018’s '