New Music Roundup — An Irresistible Brew of Introspection & Calculated Eclecticism

With so much music that was released throughout the week, it can be overwhelming and difficult to determine what to listen to. But we managed to string up a list of some of the best releases to make things easier for you. From King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard expanding upon familiar territory to the retro-futuristic sheen of Altin Gün, here are some of the best releases of the week.

King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard — L.W. [Self-released]

It only took three months for the hyper-prolific Aussie psych rockers King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard to drop the companion album to their last effort K.G. Their latest, L.W., is the band’s 17th studio album since forming in 2010 and serves as the bookend to the trilogy of microtonal albums that began with 2017’s Flying Microtonal Banana. Whereas K.G. was unfocused, even if it was more direct and lyrically brooding, L.W. digs deeper into the band’s usage of clattering guitar lines, off-kilter time signatures and syncopated rhythms—all forming a complete sound. Seamlessly picking up from the mesh of noise that closed out K.G., the fantastically falsetto-led “If Not Now, Then When?” is accompanied with a funky and bright electric harpsichord groove that contrasts greatly from the dire warnings in the songwriting—“When the ocean’s coming up / when the rain just won’t stop / when the fire’s burning / if not now, then when?”. The brooding “Pleura” and the Tool-inspired “Ataraxia,” both carry the instrumental complexity of 2017’s Polygondwanaland and the groove-laden “See Me” is accompanied by its “Oddlife”-esque vocal styling and eclectic psychedelic jam that sounds like if Goblin composed the score for a Hindi film. Closing out the trilogy, the band embark on a nine-minute stoner metal epic, which is the heaviest we’ve seen the band since their thrash metal voyage on 2019’s Infest the Rats’ Nest. Some fans and critics might be sick of the King Gizzard’s microtonal journey at this point, but L.W. displays just how masterful they’ve become at this style.

Stream the new album here.

Altin Gün — Yol [ATO Records]

Over the last few years, Altin Gün have built a reputation on bridging genres and generations. On their latest effort, the sextet continue their versatility with their psychedelic stylings, but unveil a new and distinct palette of sonic surprises. Yol is the group’s most polished effort with its muscular grooves, incorporating a heavy usage of synths and drum machines,